This is a Year for Divining.

In the new year, all we can do is spend it awake, according to Stacia Brown.

Welcome, Ms. 2015!!!! I welcome the adventure of new places and new people. Blessings!

Chip

Stacia L. Brown

2015. 2015.

I was at home, in the gilded glow of our living room. My daughter was near me, warm and giddy, conducting such energy, we jolted when we touched. She is beautiful, I thought, as she held her shallow of cider a brandy glass. She is mine to raise another year. My God, what mercy, what miracle.

I will make myself more worthy of her. I’ll be braver, wake early enough for her to do the things I’ve been doing for her when we’re low on time. She will not be so short-changed. I will not be so enabling. She is four and already it is past time for her to learn that a woman must care for her own body, her own mind, her own desires, her own rest. A woman must learn to stand guard at her own gates. While men sleep, while they wander, here she and…

View original post 645 more words

Leave a Reply

